Human Traits and Attributes

In the spring od 1977, I began a study of human characteristics. I began this research as a result of the pressure from outside influences to believe and trust in a God as defined in a variety of ways, many of which sounded horrendous and despotic. My timing would be understandable by most anyone if familiar with the circumstances of my life at that time as defined by the accumulation of alcoholic stupefication of twenty years. aided by others who had already discovered a hidden strength sufficient to overcome the ugliness that the anesthetic torpor of alcohol no longer provided, I was now being told that only a belief in a Power greater than myself could restore me to sanity.

The onus was mine. Thirty eight years of religious training had succeeded only in convincing me that a scholarly approach to a study that promised no evidence was a task better left to an academy of fools.

Tomorrow, I will attempt to tell you the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

