Human Traits and Attributes (continued)

“Though I was not aware of it at the time, caring for Baby Brother Bill brought to me a Love so powerful that it replaced the loss of Love that could have brought me to a different choice; I could have become a victim right then and there.”

I was not aware that I had become an orphan. Perhaps had I known that there was a label for what had just occured I might have remained an orphan. “To be or not to be, that is the question;”. Without a thought toward defining the situation or understanding it or puzzling over the “next right thing” to do, I took action. I saw only that there was a problem and that it was my duty to find a solution. I’m sure that there is a more professional opinion available to describe what happened at that moment in my life and that of brother Bill;  thirty-five years ago, before I started my search in earnest for “The Truth”, I had already explored many such theories. Today I believe that what happened to my young self was Love; I lost a Love and become aware of another in myself, in an instant. It was the Love born of the acceptance of responsibility to my family that overcame the overwhelming threat of the loss of the Love that I had thought was held by my mother for me and for Bill. “Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, or to take arms against a sea of troubles,  and by opposing end them?” from William Shakespeare‘s play Hamlet (written about 1600), Act III, Scene 1

A century later, another of my favorite philosophers Arouet de Voltaire who enjoyed writing about such things, did so in a way on an occasion in his life, which seems to fit another occasion in my own. And, though he restrained himself descriptions of emotion when making such comments, he had this to say about that: “An almost infallible means of saving yourself from the desire of self-destruction is always to have something to do.” Though, not as penetrating as a quote by The Bard Himself, the remark has probably rarely been challenged., unless to suggest that more could be said.

Perhaps an air of profundity might be added to this Voltarian observation were it know that his words were derived from his knowledge of the fact that his eighty-four years on planet Earth were seventy-eight more years that had been predicted for his frail presentation to the world at birth, announced by the  doctor who  delivered him and acknowledged by all those present.

Again, I seem not to be coming to an end of ideas on this subject and will take it up again on the morrow. Perhaps, I am writing a book. Maybe I’m just talking to myself. Before I end today’s contribution however, I want to acknowledge the inspiration I received for this post. I answered a phone call this morning from a friend. Though we about many things one of our favotite subjects is about the women in our lives. After listening to each other complain and helping each other to focus only on those things over which we have some control, we agreed that our focus for overcoming today’s problems would be to take Voltaire’s encouragement to set about “finding something to do” and take it one step further; that is to say, to add something of value to society starting with those closest to us.

Thank you Dan for helping me to see today more clearly. And thank you for directing me to that article  that you discovered this morning. Were I not legally restrained from re-publishing those words, I would have done so; with proper credits of course. I will say that the author of that article is  Donna Hicks and that the subject is a reference to the temptation to violate the basic tenets of human dignity. 

So, it looks like tomorrow will present another opportunity to discover more on the subject of Love. I’ll be there. Will you? If you have read this far, will you leave a comment. And, then will you forward this post to whoever you think might like to read it, comment on it and pass it on? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

