Love, Fear and Whatever Passes for Knowledge (part two)

 

In getting here from there, I’ve asked several questions. My search for answers, eventually acquired a common answer. Everything I have learned in life, everything I have wanted or experienced, everything I have ever wished for was for one reason and one reason only and that was to help me gain control of my life. I have not in fact,  gained control of my life. But I am a much happier person by having loosened my grip.

Along the way I also came to believe that there were only two things important for survival and that the only thing about this awareness that separates me from the common cockroach is in fact, the awareness itself. Every other living thing on the planet lives their lives, ruled by these two things; they have no reason to wonder. The majority of  this planet’s inhabitants are really Big on Acceptance.

These two basic concepts are Fear and Love. The awareness of these two categories of feeling appears to be present only in humans. The obsession to control our lives is born of Fear. The only times in my life when I have been free of Fear have been those moments when immersed in Love. It doesn’t matter whether the casual observer would define me during those events as The Lover or the Object thereof. In either role the experience of Love feels very much the same, though there seems to be a deeper sense of it when giving, rather than receiving and deeper still while simply sharing an experience with another.  Whether making love or making sandcastles, it is pretty much the same, isn’t it.

I cannot remember ever expecting to generate love or of deliberately experiencing the love of another but I discover it often. Love to me is the Universal Synonym for what we call God. God as I understand God has need of nothing. As such God has no need to Do anything. But as the Great Originator and in Fact the Great, Ultimate Result, the only thing left is Love. As the Great Originator, Love is uncontaminated by Fear. As the Ultimate Result, Love has survived All and is I believe aware Only of Love’s Perfect Self.

In the late Seventies I read a book on the subject of Anger. Anger, according to the author was actually fear. As a reader I was asked to use this example and by making two columns headed by the labels Anger and Love, to list under each as many human traits, attributes and emotions as would seem to fit. I did that. And the list goes on.

In the beginning the two columns were fairly equally represented. That is no longer the case. Over the years the lists have grown. And over the years the words under the heading of Love have gradually migrated to the one on the left called Fear. As I began examining the translations, the conditions and implications of each term I eventually came to realize that Love was by definition, a concept impossible to grasp by any mortal. Why? Because the concept we know as Love has as the most vital component of its meaning, the attribute of uncondionality, a concept as impossible for human minds to understand as say, the beginning of time.  

It was at that point that I could finally say to myself that I finally had an answer to that question of “Who or What is God?”

I finally had an answer to “What is the greatest Power known to mankind?”

I understood the Miracle of Healing.

And, even though as an ordinary human incapable of doing anything without a reason or a condition attached to it, I had noticed during these years that when I did something to help another human being or even a member of another species that I was the recipient of Love. And I had noticed that from the beginning of my life there were many moments when I experienced the awesome phenomena of being Loved. And I knew that when I was helping others, that even though I wasn’t actually able to deliberately click on “The Love Program”, that I could do what needed to be done knowing that the other person might be able to feel the Love and be changed by it. And I realized that I could encourage others to do the same thing that I was doing and which had and was being done for me every day of my life.. Know what I mean? Know what I mean? Cool, huh? 

 
Leave a Reply

