Meister Eckhart. The Next Thing.

During the eighties I studied the works of Eckhart von Hochheim, commonly known as Meister Eckhart. A German Theologian, Meister Eckhart was an avid researcher, fastidiously occupied with testing every new idea in syllogistic form. There is a quote, the essence of which has stuck with me for thirty years which I have not yet verified so trust me on this. If nothing else the logic is fairly tight regardless of source.

His assertion was that for a person of faith, that person need not trouble themself with the correctness needed in choosing one’s next activity. Just do the next thing. It will be the right thing to do. 

I have a friend who is so devoted to this idea that he made decisions like this, decisions which has so far, provided my friend with a wonderful life. I will tell you more about Kamal Amin tomorrow and perhaps draw upon his book, Reflections from the Shining Brow.

Leave a Reply

