On Knowing (Gautama Buddha)

“I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief.” -Gerry Spence

ON KNOWING

Buddha (563 B.C.- 483 B.C)

Do not believe what you have heard.

Do not believe in tradition just because it is handed down from many generations.

Do not believe in anything just because it has been spoken of many times.

Do not believe simply because the words come from some old sage.

Do not believe in conjecture.

Do not believe in authority or teachers or elders.

But after careful observation and analysis, when it agrees with reason and it will benefit one and all, then accept it and live by it.

5 thoughts on “On Knowing (Gautama Buddha)

  1. I absolutely love this!! It is a crystal clear methodology. I believe I am like this. I don’t take any single thing at face value anymore. Some call it cynicism – even I do occasionally, but it is the one true way to live with everything we do and keep a clear conscience. Thank you for posting, – love it!

    Amanda 🙂

    • Thanks Amanda. Yes, you do appear to have this way about you. Question everything; keep what seems right.

      I like hearing new ideas from others. But not enough to make them my own without first testing the logic and then if it still sounds good to me, checking out some books from the many libraries around me. With five books on a given subject, I choose one. When a chapter holds my attention, I then check the indexes of the other texts. And then there are the bibliographies. Really, I don’t do that all the time, but these are my guides to getting through the day. I only write about two ideas; one is an indentation of the other. Knowledge Aquisition and Love vs Fear.

      I’ve been reading your posts. I like the way you think, as revealed in the way you express yourself, and your ability to pull away when you need to.

      • It seems your home is probably as jammed with books – in pride of place, as mine!! That’s been my pattern also. Some tad of information will arrive at my senses, and I will not make a decision about it until I’ve done exactly as you have said! Select a book or three, devour it’s reasoning etc etc and eventually, draw my own conclusions. The process might take a few hours, but often can take much longer. It’s what keeps me going, thirst for knowledge some would say, but sometimes I think it’s a way of satisfying my own insane (sub-conscious) love for analysis.

        Thanks so much for your kind words, Lee, each acts as a little push for me to go a little further…!

        Respect,

        Amanda 🙂

Leave a Reply

