My Shoes Don’t Match by Lee Broom

Lee_Broom 

My shoes don’t match I say to myself
Observing one black and one brown.
One pointy toe, The other a moc
I chuckle as I sit down.

I remembered a time In Pershing Square
An orator holding his own
The end is nigh Beware my friends
Repent before heading Home.

Is he right I wondered My shoes don’t match
I’d found them a moment ago.
I repented not They felt warm and snug
I left them on my toes.

My shoes don’t match I repeat to myself
Observing one black and one brown.
One pointy toe,  The other a moc
Each slipped over A woolen sock
The time is passing Tickety tock
A smile replacing a frown;

(I’ve another pair just like these And they are my very own.)

From: An Amo and Curio Olio. A Folio of Prose and Poesy
By Lee Broom

Leave a Reply

